Read Playing with Matches by Hannah Orenstein Online

Playing with Matches

Named a Best Book of Summer by Refinery 29, Bustle, and PopSugarThe best rom-com of the seasonoverflowing with charm and heart.BustleThe perfect Summer readsmart, funny, escapist, and bursting with charm.PopSugar In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients.Sasha Goldberg has a lot going for her: a recent journalism degree from NYU, an apartment with her best friend Caroline, and a relationship that would be amazing if her finance-bro boyfriend Jonathan would ever look up from his BlackBerry. But when her dream career falls through, she uses her familys darkest secret to land a job as a matchmaker for New York Citys elite at the dating service Bliss.Despite her inexperience, Sasha throws herself into her new career, trolling for catches on Tinder, coaching her clients through rejection, and dishing out dating advice to people twice her age. She sets u...

Title : Playing with Matches
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781501178481
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Playing with Matches Reviews

  • michele

    A fun, light read, perfect for the summer. I did lose a little interest mid way through, but was happy I continued reading. The ending surprised me, it wasn't as fluffy as I assumed it would be and I loved that.

  • Stacey

    What a fun and unique read! Living in New York, I loved seeing the city through someone else's eyes — and now have some new recommendations for restaurants and bars! I found myself thinking about the main character and what she would do next when I wasn't even reading the book. Personally, I think that shows the skill of the writer: keeping me interested in her story at all times. I absolutely loved this book.

  • Kendall

    What originally drew me to this book was the title and the cover! Cover gush! <3. I love the matches that are pictures of men! Super cute and oh so true haha.

    I feel like this would have been the absolute perfect read for me before I met my fiance... because I met him on a dating app! :). So... I can DEFINITELY relate to all those horror stories of meeting some yucky men to say the least. And.. all those omg moments that you're thinking.. wow did I just get catfished by someone?! Yup... I sur
    ...more

  • Brittany

    After reading this I suppose I can see why so many people have enjoyed it but unfortunately, I wasn't one of them. The cover and title both caught my attention, but the overall story just didn't work for me.

    *ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

  • Kristy

    Sasha Goldberg's plans as a writer are quickly derailed when her boss tells her he doesn't have the funds to hire her on after her graduation. She's stuck--in New York City--without a Plan B. When she sees a job listing for a matchmaker, she's intrigued. Sasha's secret is that her parents met through a kind of matchmaker: her father chose her mom through a catalog and paid for her to come to the United States from Russia. Of course, it didn't exactly work out (they're divorced), but Sasha uses t ...more

  • Peebee

    A fun, light debut novel in the chick lit genre that nonetheless creates a heroine of substance. I underestimated this book when I started, and am still not quite sure about the ending, but the ending (without spoilers) both surprised me and made me have more respect for the rest of the book.

    It apparently comes from the author’s experience working for a matchmaking service and now writing as a dating columnist, and as implausible as having that career path might sound, it was fun to learn about
    ...more

  • Fafa's Book Corner

    Mini review:

    Minor spoilers ahead!

    DNF

    GR Ultimate Summer Reading Challenge: Let's Get It On.

    When I had heard about this book through Twitter I was excited! I haven't read a book about matchmaking and the synopsis sounded hilarious. Unfortunately it wasn't for me.

    The beginning was good! I was invested and the writing really brought out Sasha's personality. As I read on I realized that Playing with Matches is one of those really readable books. In that sense it was addictive. But it came to a point
    ...more

  • Crystal King

    What an absolutely fun book this is! I was thrilled to receive an advanced copy of this novel and it did not disappoint. Sasha Goldberg is a matchmaker for an elite dating service, one that specializes in customized connections. The thing is, her own life is riddled with disconnections, resulting in a rollicking good read as Sasha tries to make sense of the various relationships that have turned her life topsy-turvy. It's a fast moving, romantic tale with interesting and complex characters, pop- ...more